Supporting the Future of Concrete

Many organizations in the concrete industry offer scholarships for students interested in pursuing a Concrete Industry Management degree. The list below indicates the scholarships available. For more information regarding a particular scholarship, please request information from the contact listed under the specific scholarship.

National Precast Concrete Association (NPCA) Educational Foundation Scholarship

General Information: This scholarship is offered to any high school student, high school graduate or current undergraduate who will be enrolling full time in an academic institution for the year beginning in September following the date of application and whose course of study is in an academic field related to the building, construction or precast concrete industry. Scholarships will not exceed four years and are awarded in the amount of $1,000 per academic year.

Click for Application


The Bob Weatherton Scholarship

General Information: The 20th century saw concrete construction go beyond being an industry, to become also a community. Our sense of community is evident at events such as the annual World of Concrete (WOC). We owe our strength and unity to a few special leaders and one of those leaders was Bob Weatherton.

Born in Pennsylvania in 1932 and trained as an engineer at the University of Pittsburgh, Bob developed concrete pumping technologies and worked as a manager for various concrete pump companies. By 1975, there was interest in developing an exhibition specific to the concrete industry. As a representative of the American Concrete Pumping Association—which he had helped found—Bob played a large role in developing and co-sponsoring the first World of Concrete.

Bob received several industry and association awards and was named one of the “most influential people” in the industry by Concrete Construction magazine in 2014. World of Concrete subsequently established the Bob Weatherton Award, which provides CIM students with recognition and scholarship money.

Criteria for receiving the award include demonstrated industry contributions in categories such as safety, productivity and industry improvement. Student submissions–papers and presentations–are judged by a panel of industry professionals. The scholarship is presented during the week at World of Concrete.

Past award winners include:

Kelly O’Brien, New Jersey Institute of Technology – 2020

Paige Silva, California State University – 2019

Damien Bonis, California State University – 2018

Jerhard Evangelista, New Jersey Institute of Technology – 2016

Jayme Hill, California State University – Chico and Alex Burkhart, Texas State University – 2015